mercoledì 30 gennaio 2013

Nublu Orchestra Conducted by Lawrence D. Butch Morris - Live in New York 2012

In memory of Lawrence D. Butch Morris (1947-2013)

Live at Nublu, Bay Street Lndg, Manhattan, New York
June 18th, 2012

01 untitled impro [first set]

Ilhan Ersahin (tenor sax)
Jonathan Haffner (alto sax)
Welff Dorr (alto sax)
Mariano Gil (tenor sax)
Jeremy Danneman (alto sax)
Tina Kristina (bass)
Mike Kiaer (bass)
Marilia Sampaio (bass)
William McIntyre (vibes)
Harvey Valdes (guitar)
Daniel Jodocy (drums)
Lawrence D. Butch Morris (direction)

Note: A couple of minutes missing at the beginning.
Many thanks to Defe05, who taped this concert.

lunedì 28 gennaio 2013

Roy Hargrove Quintet - Live in Roma 2012

Festival Poster
Live at Casa del Jazz, Roma
during 'Decontaminate Rome'
July 22nd, 2012

01 unknown title
02 unknown title
03 unknown title
04 unknown title
05 unknown title
06 Never Let Me Go (Jay Livingston-Ray Evans)
07 unknown title
08 unknown title
09 unknown title
10 September In The Rain (Harry Warren-Al Dubin)
11 unknown title
12 unknown title

Roy Hargrove (trumpet)
Justin Robinson (alto sax and flute)
Sullivan Fortner (piano)
Ameen Saleem (bass)
Quincy Phillips (drums)

sabato 26 gennaio 2013

Sarah Vaughan - Live in Palermo 1988

Live in Palermo
August 1st, 1988

01 crowd chatter
02 Fascinatin' Rhythm (George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin)
03 I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) (Duke Ellington-Paul Francis Webster)
04 introduction of musicians
05 In A Mellotone (Duke Ellington-Milt Gabler)
06 Easy Living (Ralph Rainger-Leo Robin)
07 Just Friends (John Klenner-Sam M.Lewis)
08 So Many Stars (Sergio Mendes-Alan Bergman-Marilyn Bergman)
09 East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon) (Brooks Bowman)
10 unknown title
11 On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever) (Burton Lane-Alan Jay Lerner) [cuts out]
12 To Say Goodbye (Pra Dizer Adeus) (Edu Lobo-Torquato Neto-Lani Hall) [cuts in]
13 From This Moment On (Cole Porter) [cuts out]
14 The Shadow Of Your Smile (Johnny Mandel-Paul Francis Webster) [cuts in]
15 Send In the Clowns (Stephen Sondheim) [cuts out]
16 Tenderly (Walter Gross-Jack Lawrence) [cuts in]
17 Summertime (George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin) [a capella, cuts in]

Sarah Vaughan (vocals)
George Gaffney (piano)
Andy Simpkins (bass)
Harold Jones (drums)

lunedì 21 gennaio 2013

Archie Shepp Just In Time Quartet - Live in Roma 2003

photo of the concert
Live at 'La Palma', Roma
during 'Dolcevita Jazz Festival'
June 6th, 2003

Broadcasted and recorded on RAI Radio 3


Disc 1 [first set]
01 Hope 2 (A.Shepp)
02 A.Shepp's annoucements
03 Deli Blues For Blakey (B.Durham)
04 This Is Always (Mack Gordon-Harry Warren)
05 A.Shepp's annoucements
06 Stompin' At The Savoy (Edgar Sampson)

Disc 2 [second set]
01 The Stars Are In Your Eyes (Don Raye)
02 A.Shepp's annoucements
03 Steam (A.Shepp)
04 A.Shepp's annoucements-He's Really Dead (A.Shepp)
05 What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life (Michel Legrand)

Archie Shepp (tenor and soprano saxes, vocal)
Massimo Faraò (piano)
Wayne Dockery (bass)
Bobby Durham (drums, vocal)

Thanks to Jack for the title of the last tune of the second set
and to Andy for the correct spelling of the name of the bass player.

martedì 15 gennaio 2013

Rob Mazurek plays Calma Gente - Sant'Anna Arresi 2012

Live at Piazza del Nuraghe, Sant'Anna Arresi, Cagliari
during 'Ai Confini tra Sardegna e Jazz 2012'
August 29th, 2012

Broadcasted and recorded on RAI Radio 3

01 radio intro by Pino Saulo
02 The Suite Of Infinite Love (R.Mazurek)

Rob Mazurek (horn, electronics)
Guilherme Granado (keyboards, electronics)
Mauricio Takara (drums, percussion, cavaquinho)
Matthew Lux (electric bass)

lunedì 7 gennaio 2013

Bonnie Raitt & Taj Mahal - Live in Albuquerque 2009

Live at Sandia Casino Ampitheatre, Albuquerque
September 23rd, 2009

--- Set One ---
01 Intro - Talk To Me 
02 A Thing Called Love 
03 One Belief Away 
04 Your Good Thing Is About To End 
05 Taj Mahal intro 
06 Good Man, Good Woman 
07 Satisfied 'n Tickled Too 
08 Done Changes My Way Of Living 
09 Angel From Montgomery 
10 Love Letter 
11 Something To Talk About 
12 Love Sneakin' Up On You 
--- Set Two ---
13 I Can't Make You Love Me 
14 Tramp 
15 She Caught The Katy 
16 Wah She Go Do 
17 Love So Strong 
18 Gnawin' On It 
19 Coming Home 

domenica 6 gennaio 2013

Roy Buchanan - Live in Brisbane 1981

Live at Her Majety's Theatre, Brisbane
August 1st, 1981

01 Turn To Stone 
02 Roy's Bluz 
03 My Sonata 
04 Johnny B. Goode 
05 My Babe 
06 Secret Love
07 D Blues (cut)
08 Dizzy Miss Lizzy 
09 Green Onions 
10 Good God Have Mercy 
11 The Messiah Theme 
12 Johnny B. Goode 
13 Hey Joe - Foxy Lady - Purple Haze

Roy Buchanan (guitar)
Paul Jacobs (keyboards,vocals) 
Gordon Johnson (bass) 
Gordy Knutsen (drums)

Dedicated to my friend SOTISE

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

I give you my best wishes for your happy holidays and happy new year.
Against the Christmas consumerism, I invite you to be of help for all poor children who can't have a happy Christmas. So, donate and help: a smile is the most beautiful gift that you can receive.

Stay Rock.

venerdì 4 gennaio 2013

James Brown - Live in Lucca 1984

Live at Bussoladomani, Lido Di Camaiore, Lucca
July 1984

01 Instrumental - Sex Machine theme - Jam *
02 James Brown Introduction - Jam - Too Funky In Here
03 Gonna Have A Funky Good Time
04 Prisoner Of Love - It's A Man, Man's World
05 Get On The Good Foot - Try Me - Please, Please Me
06 Dance - Sex Machine

*  with Clair Pinckney on trumpet and Tony Cook on drums solo

mercoledì 2 gennaio 2013

Vienna Art Orchestra - Live at Genova Jazz 1985

photo of the concert
Live at Villa Imperiale, Genova
July 4th, 1985

01 Alpenhorn
02 Life At The Death Sea [solos: W.Schabata, U.Scherer, C.Radovan]
03 Perpetuum Mobile [solos: H.Sokal, H.Kaenzig, B.Fian]
04 Seven Changes [solos: H.Joos, H.Fian, H.Kottek, C.Radovan, H.Sokal]
05 Voices Without Words [solos: L.Newton, W.Reisinger, J.Dudli]
06 Black Chianti (aka Romana) [solo: R.Scwaller]
07 Wooddrums In Roots [solos: W.Schabata, H.Kottek, B.Fian]
08 Tears In Atlanta [solos: W.Puschnig, H.Joos, J.Sass]
09 Variations On A Theme By W.A. Mozart [solo: W.Puschning]

Mathias Ruegg (leader, arranger)
Lauren Newton (vocal)
Roman Schwaller (tenor sax)
Harry Sokal (tenor & soprano saxes, flute)
Wolfgang Puschnig (sopranino & alto saxes, bass clarinet, flute)
Herbert Joos (trumpet)
Bumi Fian (trumpet)
Hans Kottek (trumpet)
Christian Radovan (trombone)
John Sass (tuba)
Uli Scherer (piano)
Hairi Kaenzig (bass)
Joris Dudli (percussions)
Woody Schabata (vibes, marimba)
Wolfgang Reisinger (drums)